of soaring & dreaming

June 29, 2008

Football Euro 2008

Filed under: Sports — carnationzky @ 7:24 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I am currently watching the Final Match of Euro 2008 with Germany and Spain sweating it out for the Championship. It is now 23 minutes into the game and there is no goal yet. Watching the game is so exciting. It is being shown in a couple of local channels here in Thailand with commentaries in Thai. We do not have the sports cable channel so we could not listen to the commentary in English. It’s ok as I can understand Thai. Sometimes I mute the sound and just watch the action. But my dear hubby (who is a Thai) asked me why I muted it. He was doing something else in his computer so he was just listening to the commentaries. Sometimes I call his attention when there is excitement in the action. But the game is so fast paced you really have to watch it so as not to miss anything. It is now 29 minutes and a few attempts have already been made to make the goal, especially on the Spanish side. My fingers are typing here but my eyes are on the TV screen. It is now 2:16 am and I have to go work in 6 hours’ time. I want to stay on to watch but I do not know whether my eyes will stay open until the game ends. I don’t want to miss this final match. Some friends are surprised that I watch football matches. Football (soccer) is not as popular as basketball and baseball in the Philippines. But I happened to be assigned for four years in Barotac Nuevo, Iloilo, a town where football is the main sport. No basketball courts could be found in that town and nearly everybody plays football! I was also there during a national football tournament in the late 80s. I am preparing another blog entry about this.

I just screamed because Spain got one goal in 32:37 minutes by Torres!!!! Now maybe I can sleep! But maybe not yet.

1 Comment »

  1. […] Football Euro 2008Some friends are surprised that I watch football matches. Football (soccer) is not as popular as basketball and baseball in the Philippines. But I happened to be assigned for four years in Barotac Nuevo, Iloilo, a town where football is … […]

    Pingback by Football » The Perfect Football Pass — June 30, 2008 @ 12:35 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

